2013: A Year in Review

Hello All!

Firstly, Happy New Year! 🙂 I hope you had a great party, and that 2014 has started out strong for you!

I’m back from cold, cold Norway and ready to get back into my blogging routine again! It feels like ages since I last posted. 😦

Since we’ve rounded a corner into the new year, I thought I’d take the opportunity to look back on the last year. I started blogging last March, so while it hasn’t been a full year, I’ve definitely had the opportunity to watch myself, and this blog, grow!

Here are some of my favorite manicures from 2013:

March

Easter Skittle ManicureI love this one because it’s one of my first attempts at “real” nail art, and one that I was proud of. See the full post here.

simple heartsI also wanted to include my very first post ever, as it’s the one that started this blog! You can view the post here.

April

easymarbleI like this post because it’s a combination of colors I don’t often use, and it was my second attempt at water marbling — and the result is a happy sunshiney mani! See the full post here.

May

tapemanicure6In May, I tried my hand at my first taping manicure, and while the lines aren’t perfectly straight, I really like this jewelry inspired manicure. See the full post here.

June

sugar spun manicure redIn June I had my first attempt at doing a sugar spun manicure, which is a really unique and fun way to add texture to your nails. See the full post, and tutorial, here.

July

Tuxedo Nails

Essie: Licorice; China Glaze: White on White; China Glaze: Ruby Pumps

In July my blog hit it’s first 100 followers — so I took a poll for any requests for manicure designs that I should try out. Inspired both by my friend Anne, and this manicure on Zoey Deschanel, I tried my hand at tuxedo nails that you readers voted in. I’m still pleased with how they turned out, even if the bows aren’t perfect. 🙂 See the full post here.

August

Ciaté Loop the Loop; Orly Cotton Candy; Wet n Wild Tonight's Gonna Be a Good Night.What kind of review of 2013 wouldn’t include some ombre/gradient nails? I had to include this piece in — cocktail inspired — because 2013 felt like it was all about the ombre. I like the happy vibe of the colors of this. You can also see here my decision to stop adding borders to my pictures. I had reached a point where it was taking me 7 hours to make a post (from doing the mani, clean-up, taking pictures, editing pictures, watermarking them and then adding a border) and I simply needed to save on some time. It has really made a difference — and it means I can post more often! See the full post here.

September

Maybelline Color Show: 661 Ocean Blue; Wet 'n Wild Fastdry: Silvivor.For September, I had a really hard time choosing, so I’m showing you two! The first is when I tried my hand out with an easy chevron manicure, and I think it definitely has to make the list, since the technique of making these nail polish ‘stickers’ has really been one I’ve enjoyed using. See the full post here.

Max Factor: Lilac Lace; Essie: Lovie Dovie, Tart Deco, Mint Candy Apple; & Sally Hansen: Blue Me Away!The second manicure is my simple colorful french manicure. Even though it’s a pretty straightforward manicure, I think sometimes simple can be the way to go! See the full post here.

October

Max Factor Glossfinity: Lilac lace; OH MY GOSH: Lime'n Lemon: Essie: Licorice; China Glaze: White on White.October was a hard month to choose between, too. I had my Frankenstein Halloween manicure, which is another nail art attempt I’m super happy with. See the full post here.

W.I.C by Heróme: Frederiksberg; Nicole by OPI: One Less Lonely Glitter; Depend: Nr.2062.But… I also had a super glittery explosion of a mani, that I felt should also make the list! See the full post here.

November

China Glaze It's a trap-eze!For November, I chose a mani with one of my all-time favorite jelly polishes ever! (And that’s saying a lot, I rarely like the jelly formula). I like this mani because it’s colorful and happy, and it was my first time using dried flowers in a manicure. See the full post here.

December

MoYou stamping kit Olive the Sailor Stamping Nail Art Plate Collection. Sailor Collection 03. Sally Hansen Blue Me Away! and Essie MesmerizedDecember was also a hard one to choose, so I’ve gone with two again! I had to include my first attempt at nail stamping, as I can tell this method is really going to be one I use a lot in the future! I love the effect! See the full post here.

China Glaze: White on White; Depend 2066 Silver Mist.I’ve also chosen my winter inspired manicure that matches my cardigan really well! I love the icy feel of the manicure! You can see the full post here.

What do you think? Do you have a favorite manicure I’ve done? Or a favorite one of your own? I’d love to see your work, so please share in the comments! 🙂

2 thoughts on “2013: A Year in Review

  1. you had a great year! I love the simple but funky french manicure you did 🙂

Leave a Reply

