Baby, it’s cold outside!

Sally Hansen Glitter Gun; China Glaze Running in Circles; China Glaze White on White; China Glaze Ruby Pumps.

 

Polish Rating: Running in Circles: A; White on White: B ; Ruby Pumps: B-; Glitter Gun: B+ .

Difficulty Rating: 4

A Christmas themed manicure!

Sally Hansen Glitter Gun; China Glaze Running in Circles; China Glaze White on White; China Glaze Ruby Pumps.

Hey All,

Have you gotten all your Christmas gifts sorted yet? I must say, I’m usually super late out getting gifts, and find myself overwhelmed and stressed amongst the many Christmas shoppers. This year I managed to be quite organized about it all! I’m all done, and my gifts are wrapped and ready to go!

Today’s manicure is a Christmas themed manicure — it’s hard not to get caught up in the Christmas spirit with all the street decorations, and the wonderful Christmas smells of brændte mandler (caramelized almonds) cooking in the streets of Copenhagen. I thought that the many years of retail work (and looped music playing in the store) had killed my love for Christmas songs, but now (two years later!) I feel I love them again! 🙂 Sally Hansen Glitter Gun; China Glaze Running in Circles; China Glaze White on White; China Glaze Ruby Pumps.I used three polishes from China Glaze: White on White; Running in Circles and Ruby Pumps. I also used Sally Hansen Glitter Gun. I used two coats for all polishes except Glitter Gun (I used one coat), though Ruby Pumps is more of a jelly color, so the coats need to be quite generous. As I’ve mentioned before, you have do to quite a bit of fishing to get the larger hex pieces out from Glitter Gun.Sally Hansen Glitter Gun; China Glaze Running in Circles; China Glaze White on White; China Glaze Ruby Pumps.

Sally Hansen Glitter Gun; China Glaze Running in Circles; China Glaze White on White; China Glaze Ruby Pumps.

I used White on White as my base on my thumb and ring fingers, and then applied my striping tape over that, once it was touch dry. I then used Running in Circles and Ruby Pumps over White on White, being careful to remove the tape in the reverse order of how I applied them.

Tips and Tricks:

  • Remember the order in which you apply your striping tape. I like to apply it clockwise, so it’s easy for me to remember which ones to remove first. If you grab a tape from under another piece, you’ll smudge your manicure!
  • Always use a basecoat under dark colors to avoid staining! Especially with Running in Circles, I have experienced serious stains when I’ve skipped this process!

I applied some MoYou Rhinestones in red and green to the center of my taped off manicure. For the rest of my fingers I applied two coats of either Running in Circles or Ruby Pumps, followed by a coat of Glitter Gun.Sally Hansen Glitter Gun; China Glaze Running in Circles; China Glaze White on White; China Glaze Ruby Pumps.

Sally Hansen Glitter Gun; China Glaze Running in Circles; China Glaze White on White; China Glaze Ruby Pumps.

For some reason, my green rhinestones are photographing as a dark blue! :-/

What do you think? What’s your favorite Christmas Mani?

Other Posts You Might Enjoy:

Gold & ‘Greige’: Playa Del Platinum & Glitter Gun

Simple Hearts

Oh Starry Night!

Other Great Christmas Manicures:

Nail Art Gallery

Chalkboard Nails

Love Varnish

 

2 thoughts on “Baby, it’s cold outside!

  1. So festive, I’m loving it!

Leave a Reply

