Nail Stamps from MoYou

MoYou stamping kit Olive the Sailor Stamping Nail Art Plate Collection. Sailor Collection 03. Sally Hansen Blue Me Away! and Essie Mesmerized

 

Polish Rating: Sally Hansen: A; Essie: A+

Difficulty rating: 4

My first attempt at Nail Art Stamping Plates.

MoYou stamping kit Olive the Sailor Stamping Nail Art Plate Collection. Sailor Collection 03. Sally Hansen Blue Me Away! and Essie Mesmerized

Hey all!

Today’s post is my first attempt at trying my hand at stamping. For those of you who are struggling with stamping, I can only say this: persevere! I started out with a really cheap stamper and it really didn’t work. When I got the one from MoYou, I thought it was going to be easy-peasy now that I had quality tools. Let me tell you, it was not. I was just about to give up on stamping altogether when I decided to watch a few videos on YouTube. Just before I gave up entirely, I saw this video:

The key? Moving fast! If you wait too long the polish dries, so you have to go fast! Like many things in life, over-thinking it actually works against you! 😉

MoYou stamping kit Olive the Sailor Stamping Nail Art Plate Collection. Sailor Collection 03

Olive the Sailor Stamping Nail Art Plate Collection. Sailor Collection 03. Stamp and Scraper

When my MoYou package arrived, these were the items in it. I ordered the stamp and scraper separately from the Nail Art Plate. The plate I ordered was  Olive the Sailor and it was the Sailor Collection 03 plate. I love the packaging!MoYou stamping kit Olive the Sailor Stamping Nail Art Plate Collection. Sailor Collection 03

The plate comes with a blue plastic protective film to keep the plate from scratching, and a plastic backing to prevent the plate from scratching whatever surface you are working on.MoYou stamping kit Olive the Sailor Stamping Nail Art Plate Collection. Sailor Collection 03

without the protective plastic film

Just look at those designs! And with plates costing just £4.99 I can definitely tell I will be buying a LOT more of these!MoYou stamping kit Olive the Sailor Stamping Nail Art Plate Collection. Sailor Collection 03. Sally Hansen Blue Me Away! and Essie Mesmerized

MoYou stamping kit Olive the Sailor Stamping Nail Art Plate Collection. Sailor Collection 03. Sally Hansen Blue Me Away! and Essie Mesmerized

I started off with a coat of Sally Hansen Blue Me Away! and waited for it to dry. I used two easy coats of this beautiful blue. Then I applied Essie Mesmerize to the nail plate and stamped on the design. They’re not perfect, but for a first attempt, I am satisfied!

MoYou stamping kit Olive the Sailor Stamping Nail Art Plate Collection. Sailor Collection 03. Sally Hansen Blue Me Away! and Essie Mesmerized

MoYou stamping kit Olive the Sailor Stamping Nail Art Plate Collection. Sailor Collection 03. Sally Hansen Blue Me Away! and Essie MesmerizedTips and Tricks:

Many people suggest using shellac or gel nails underneath, so that when you make a mistake you can just wipe off the polish and start again without having to redo an entire nail. I have not done this, and not all my nails are perfect — I hope to be able to see improvements as I become more acquainted with the techniques.
I also wonder if acrylic paint would be another option to try out? I may try this soon.

MoYou stamping kit Olive the Sailor Stamping Nail Art Plate Collection. Sailor Collection 03. Sally Hansen Blue Me Away! and Essie Mesmerized
Close-up

What do you think? Have you tried stamping before? What’s your favorite MoYou plate?

 

Other Posts You May Enjoy:

Polish Review: Sally Hansen Blue Me Away! and Salon Perfect Kaboom

Oh Starry Night!

Jewelry inspired mani #4: Monday blues

 

Other Great Stamping Manicures

PumpkinCat210

All things Vain

DIY Fashion Diva

4 thoughts on “Nail Stamps from MoYou

  1. LoLinda says:

    I love stamping! I’ve only used Konad plates though. Gotta try out MoYou!

    http://www.lolinda.com

  2. Love the colour combo here!

Leave a Reply

