Gold & ‘Greige’: Playa Del Platinum & Glitter Gun

Essie: Playa Del Platinum & Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear: Glitter Gun

Polish Rating: Essie: A; Sally Hansen: B+

Difficulty Rating: 1

Another Gold & ‘Greige’ mani!

Hey All!

I hope your week is going well! I must apologize for the delay in posting, but unfortunately I have been feeling super ill, and have been staying indoors to avoid the cold and spreading my germs.

Now I’m feeling slightly more human, and am ready to do things that don’t involve lying on my couch and watching endless shows!

Essie: Playa Del Platinum & Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear: Glitter Gun

I used Essie Playa Del Platinum and Sally Hansen Hard As Nails Xtreme Wear in Glitter Gun.  

Glitter Gun is from Sally Hansen’s limited edition Fall 2013 Collection, and is a clear topper with loads of gold and white glitter – there are bar glitters, round glitters, hex glitters and then jumbo hex glitters — both in gold and white (except the jumbo pieces, they’re only white). I saw it and fell in love. I can imagine this color looking great over a light blue, or even over a red for a more Christmas-sy feel. I used two coats for this manicure.

Playa Del Platinum is from Essie’s 2010 Summer Collection, and I used two generous coats for full opacity. I’ve reviewed this color before, and described it as a ‘greige’ that might come from a love affair between a cafe latte and cement. Because I’m quite pale, I usually use a topper over this, or combine it with an accent nail so my nails don’t make me look… well… dead.

Essie: Playa Del Platinum & Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear: Glitter Gun

Glitter Gun is a beautiful polish, but you will do a LOT of fishing around to get the big white hex glitters anywhere near that nail brush. I only managed to get a piece on four of my nails, and that was with a lot of turning the bottle upside down and fishing around to snag them. I wish the formula was a bit better, those pieces feel a bit like false advertising if you can’t get a hold of any of them! Still, I love gold and white together, so the polish is nice without them.

Essie: Playa Del Platinum & Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear: Glitter Gun

 

Essie: Playa Del Platinum & Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear: Glitter Gun

I really like this combination, and I think it is definitely work appropriate – for those of you out there who need to be discreet. It also works really well with duo-tone jewelry (mix of silver and gold), which made me happy! 🙂

Essie: Playa Del Platinum & Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear: Glitter Gun

What do you think? Have you tried Glitter Gun before? Did you also experience the same fishing problems I did?

Other Posts You Might Enjoy:

Jewelry Inspired #3

Floral Print & Glitter

Green & Gold Freehand

Other Great Work-Appropriate Manicures:

Charismatic Work Polishes that Work for Work

Office Manicure Trends for Fall

Pretty, Girly and French

2 thoughts on “Gold & ‘Greige’: Playa Del Platinum & Glitter Gun

  1. This looks brilliant with the topper, love it!

Leave a Reply

