Have a little heart…

 

Essie Splash of Grenadine  Sally Hansen Gem Crush in Lady Luck.

Polish Rating: Essie: A-; Sally Hansen: A-

Difficulty rating: 4

Have a little heart: Philippine typhoon Haiyan/Yolanda relief.

Hey all,

Today’s post is about having a some heart(s). Some of you may know that while I’m not Filipina, I spent the first 15 years of my life living in the Philippines, and despite nearly the same amount of time living away, it still has a home in my heart.

The recent typhoon in the Philippines not only left me concerned about friends and their families (thankfully they are safe), but also for the many, many people that have been affected in the aftermath. If you want to help with relief initiatives, please see my links below:

Show Some Love: Places You Can Donate

Rise Philippines

The Philippines Emergency Appeal

Collated Information on How You Can Help

Essie Splash of Grenadine  Sally Hansen Gem Crush in Lady Luck.

Essie Splash of Grenadine  Sally Hansen Gem Crush in Lady Luck.

For this manicure, I used Essie Splash of Grenadine and Sally Hansen Gem Crush Lady Luck. I used the same technique I mention in my heart-tip nails post from last week, except I started with a base of Splash of Grenadine. Once that was dry, I added Lady Luck as the hearts.

Tips & tricks: Using a really opaque color for your heart layering is a good idea, as there are less chances of you messing up your hearts if you only have to go over them once.

Essie Splash of Grenadine  Sally Hansen Gem Crush in Lady Luck.

Essie Splash of Grenadine  Sally Hansen Gem Crush in Lady Luck.

Lady Luck catches the light in the most beautiful way — unfortunately, my camera has a hard time keeping up!

If any of my readers live in, or have family/friends in, the Philippines — my thoughts are with you. I hope you and your loved ones are/stay safe.

 

Related Posts:

Polish Review: Lady Luck

A Splash of Grenadine

 

Further Reading on Haiyan/Yolanda:

Typhoon Haiyan: Faces of the storm

How to help Typhoon Haiyan survivors

Leave a Reply

