Quick Post: Vampy Hearts

Max Factor Glossfinity Burgundy Crush; Heróme Ridge Filling Base Coat Sally Hansen Diamond Flash  Fast Dry Top Coat.

Polish Rating: Max Factor A+; Heróme: A-; Sally Hansen: A-

Difficulty rating: 4

Vampy hearts: using your nail shape to form hearts!

Hey all!

I hope you have had a lovely weekend! Mine was filled with fun — lots of nice walks, and celebrating my boyfriend’s sister’s graduation from her Masters on Saturday. The event was a semi-formal one, so I wore a dress and a red blazer, and did this manicure for the occasion!  Max Factor Glossfinity Burgundy Crush; Heróme Ridge Filling Base Coat Sally Hansen Diamond Flash  Fast Dry Top Coat.I started out by filing my nails similar to the the shape on the far right of the image below, but with a more rounded shape, tapering in to the point. 

nail shapes
Image Source 

Tips: This is the bottom of your hearts, so try and keep a picture of a heart in mind as you file. Work slowly, you can always take more away, but you can’t put it back! 😉 This process is one of the reasons why this manicure has a rating of 4 – you have to grow your nails out patiently to the right length, and then file them down to pointy ends.

Once my nails were filed and my cuticles were cleaned, I started out with a coat of Heróme Ridge Filling Base Coat, which I always have on hand. As you can see in my photos, my ring finger has an annoying ridge. Ah, age, what treasures you bring! 😉 Max Factor Glossfinity Burgundy Crush; Heróme Ridge Filling Base Coat Sally Hansen Diamond Flash  Fast Dry Top Coat.Then, using the brush that came with the polish, I used Max Factor Glossfinity Burgundy Crush to create my hearts. I found that if you just swiped two times, starting from the top of our hearts and downwards towards the tips, it was surprisingly easy to get the hearts perfect on the first try.Max Factor Glossfinity Burgundy Crush; Heróme Ridge Filling Base Coat Sally Hansen Diamond Flash  Fast Dry Top Coat.

Tips: For hearts that I wasn’t too impressed with, I used a nail art brush dipped in acetone to correct my mistakes. I only had to do this on two nails – patience is definitely key in this manicure! Also, it’s important to remember that no one is going to be staring at the minute details of your nails, the overall effect of this design is still effective, even if you don’t have perfect hearts! Max Factor Glossfinity Burgundy Crush; Heróme Ridge Filling Base Coat Sally Hansen Diamond Flash  Fast Dry Top Coat.

Once I was satisfied with my nails, I finished them off with Sally Hansen Diamond Flash  Fast Dry Top Coat. It’s not quite as amazing as Seche Vite, but I do feel like Seche gets quite clumpy and hard to control around the point where you have 1/4 left in the bottle. I’m hoping that Sally Hansen’s fast dry top coat formula is a little less unwieldy.

What do you think? Have you tried filing your nails to get different shapes before? What are your favorite designs?

Other Posts You May Like:

Burgundy Crush and OPI Save Me

Colorful French Manicure

Simple Hearts

Other Great Heart Nail Ideas:

Beautylish

Do It and How

Fpishere

2 thoughts on “Quick Post: Vampy Hearts

  1. This mani is SO cute. I love how you left the rest of your nail nude to let the red hearts stand out. I wish my nails were long enough to file like that!

    • Thank you! I’m quite surprised myself, as my nails are normally so weak in winter that growing them out to file this shape is normally a challenge! 😀 so glad I got to try this trend!

Leave a Reply

