Quick Post: Halloween

Nicole by OPI: Kissed at Midnight; Ciaté: Fashionista; Barry M Red Black; Sally Hansen: Café Au Lait.

Polish Rating: Barry M: B-; Sally Hansen: B-; Nicole by OPI: A+, Ciaté: A

Difficulty rating: 7

My first (and semi-failed) attempt at dripping nails — inspired for Halloween.

Hey all,

Today’s post is just a quick one, of my attemps to do bloody drips on my nails for Halloween.

I took inspiration from The Nailasaurus, who consistently comes up with amazing designs and great tutorials.

I used the following polishes for these looks:

Nicole by OPI: Kissed at Midnight; Ciaté: Fashionista; Barry M: Red Black; Sally Hansen: Café Au Lait.

Nicole by OPI: Kissed at Midnight; Ciaté: Fashionista; Barry M Red Black; Sally Hansen: Café Au Lait.

I started out by painting all my fingers with two coats of Café Au Lait (nude/beige), with the exception of my ring fingers, where I used two easy coats of Kissed at Midnight (gold).

Once my base was dry, I then used a dotting tool to create the ends of the drips on my nails, with Red Black (oxblood red). I used a nail art brush to fill in the rest of the drips.

For my first attempt at this, I think it went ok… but I’m not crazily impressed either. Since it’s a beginner’s blog, I think it’s important to share my failures with you, too!

Nicole by OPI: Kissed at Midnight; Ciaté: Fashionista; Barry M Red Black; Sally Hansen: Café Au Lait.

The thumb especially came out really patchy.

What went wrong?

Some problems I encountered were: the fact that the polish became quite tacky from the contact with the air (I had poured a bit of polish out on a plastic plate), and therefore was harder to control, and prone to lumpiness. I would have done well to either use acrylic paint, or use some acetone to thin the nail polish I used for the drips.

While I think it actually does give off a ‘bloody’ feel, I wasn’t too impressed with the overall effect. I was, however, completely in love with Kissed at Midnight. So I opted to go for a much simpler manicure, in the end, using Fashionista on my other nails:

Nicole by OPI: Kissed at Midnight; Ciaté: Fashionista; Barry M Red Black; Sally Hansen: Café Au Lait.

 

Nicole by OPI: Kissed at Midnight; Ciaté: Fashionista; Barry M Red Black; Sally Hansen: Café Au Lait.

 

It didn’t end up very Halloween themed, but maybe this time next year I’ll be a drip mani pro! 😉

Have you tried drip nails before? Do you have any tips that you felt worked particularly well?

Leave a Reply

