Frankenpolish: Holographic Red

Gosh Holographic Hero; Depend Nr. 19.

Polish Rating: Whee!

Difficulty rating: 1

Frankenpolish: My first attempt at mixing my own shade.

Hey All,

 

Today’s post is about frankenpolish – a term I like to use for making your own shades using existing colors. Plus, it’s nearly Halloween, and who could resist the reference. 😉 This method is different from layering your way to a new color, as I’ve already discussed in this post. Instead, you mix your own colors together.

I used Gosh in Holographic Hero and Depend Nr. 19 to create this look.

Gosh Holographic Hero; Depend Nr. 19.I had Depend 19 in my collection for a while, and it’s a red creme formula. After a big clean up of my collection, I found myself wondering whether or not I should get rid of this shade. After all, it’s certainly not the most unique shades out there, I have plenty of reds, and it had begun to clump in the bottle.

Then, an idea struck me.

I had just acquired Holographic Hero, which is surprisingly opaque – needing only two thin coats for full opacity, and thusly making it a bit difficult to use in layering. I have been seeing some amazing red holo polishes around the nail blog world, and have been dying for one of my own, but for some reason here in Denmark this is harder to find than you’d think. And so, my frankenpolish was born.

Gosh Holographic Hero; Depend Nr. 19.

Gosh Holographic Hero; Depend Nr. 19.Just look at that sparkle! I started out by using a bit of acetone to make my red polish fluid again, as neglect and age had turned the formula quite clumpy. When using this technique, always build up – you can always add, but you can’t take away!

When my polish was looking sensible formula-wise, I then added in around 10 drops of Holographic Hero, incrementally, shaking and testing at each stage.

Gosh Holographic Hero; Depend Nr. 19.

 

Gosh Holographic Hero; Depend Nr. 19.It’s important to think about the type of formulas you are mixing, when you embark on this. I chose to use a creme formula and the holographic formula together, because they mix well.  Additionally, I rarely ever finish a bottle of polish, and I knew I could ‘sacrifice’ a few ml of the Holographic Hero in my quest – as I was prepared to throw my red out anyway if this failed. (I ended up making a holo pink and a turquoise too, which I haven’t swatched yet)

Adding glitter polish to a creme formula could be more complicated, as would mixing two colors together to try and make a new shade (such as red and blue for purple, for example). Keep this in mind when mixing your own shades, and always try your mix out on a mixing plate (plastic plate) first – or use polishes you aren’t extremely fond of!

Gosh Holographic Hero; Depend Nr. 19.What do you think? Have you made your own frankenpolish before? What shade did you create?

3 thoughts on “Frankenpolish: Holographic Red

  1. […] Frankenpolish: Holographic Red Polish Rating: Whee! Difficulty rating: 1 Frankenpolish: My first attempt at mixing my own shade. Hey All, Today’s post is about frankenpolish – a term I like to use for making your own shades using existing colors. Plus, it’s nearly Halloween, and who could resist the reference. This method is diff … Thu, 17 Oct 2013 09:34:00 CDT more info… […]

  2. Elektra King says:

    I like your franken very much! Who doesn’t want to have a red holo! I tried to make a franken only once: I added different kinds of glitter to OPI Moon Over Mumbai – a milky gray jelly (maybe crelly). The result was awful. The black glitter I used had a serious bleeding issue and other glitters that I used were suddenly in the polish so translucent that they pretty much vanished … but yes, I should try it again 😉

    • Thank you! 🙂 I was really pleased with the results! But I’ve noticed that even branded polish, with big glitter especially, also have serious application issues! I bought Fergie’s wet n wild polish with big stars in a clear base. In the bottle it looked so impressive, but I seriously had to fish out each star! It’s really an art to match the formulas. O_o
      That sounds so unlucky with your frankenpolish! Some glitters are completely fine, and others have their color bleed so easily! I remember buying some cheaper alternatives to caviar beads, arranging them painstakingly in patterns on my nails and then having the colors bleed all over the place with top coat! 😦
      Could you still use the polish afterwards? Definitely give it another go! I’d love to see the results! 🙂

Leave a Reply

