Autumn Nails x 2

W.I.C Heróme Zagora; Rimmel Beige Style; OPI Goldeneye; Revlon Moon Candy Universe.

Difficulty Rating: 5/6

Polish Rating: W.I.C: C; Rimmel: B+; OPI: A-; Revlon: A

Two Autumn manicures, centered around one shade.

Hey all,

Apologies in the delay with my posting. I’ve been having a sort of nail bloggers block of sorts, because I became obsessed with the idea of using a particular polish. This consumed me, and I refused to do any other manicures until I solved this conundrum.

I’m going to level with you. I like dark brown nail polish, but I don’t think it likes me. And I don’t think orange likes me much, either. And yet, here we are.

…Let me start from the beginning…

I was walking through Magasin, a department store in Copenhagen that has a large selection of nail polish, and often gets the collections quicker than other stores. I stumbled across this beauty:

W.I.C Heróme in Zagora. The “W.I.C” in the W.I.C Collection actually stands for World Inspired Colors. Zagora, inspired by a town in Morocco, is a peachy-pumpkin colored shimmer formula, which shines pink and gold in the light. A warm color that appeared to be both summer and autumn appropriate? I bought it on impulse. Obviously.

Wanting to stick to fall colors, I decided to try to use this color in an autumn-themed manicure, and ended up doing two attempts (not including the swatch I did using Zagora on all my nails, and the second swatch where I tried to use Zagora for a gradient — both which I didn’t even both to photograph because I rage-removed them).

Verdict: In the bottle it looks absolutely gorgeous. On my nails…? Not so much. 😦

Additionally, the formula is so so thin. You need three thick coats (almost four) for opacity, and it’s watery formula demands patience between layers to avoid clumping and balding.

For both manicures, I used W.I.C Heróme Zagora; Rimmel Beige Style; OPI Goldeneye; Revlon Moon Candy Universe.

W.I.C Heróme Zagora; Rimmel Beige Style; OPI Goldeneye; Revlon Moon Candy Universe.Using the nail sticker technique I’ve discussed before, I made myself a little leaf out of Goldeneye, which I cut out and placed on my nail. I then used a nail art brush to draw the patterns on the leaf in the brown from Universe, and I used this same brush to create the pattern on my middle finger with Zagora and Goldeneye. For my index finger, I layered the gold flakes from Universe on top of Beige Style – which stands alone on my thumb and pinky.

W.I.C Heróme Zagora; Rimmel Beige Style; OPI Goldeneye; Revlon Moon Candy Universe.Beige Style is a pale latte colored shimmer (very discreet) formula, which is opaque in two coats. You need to work slowly and wait for each layer to dry a bit, as some balding occurred when layering.

W.I.C Heróme Zagora; Rimmel Beige Style; OPI Goldeneye; Revlon Moon Candy Universe.Goldeneye is a warm, honey-gold colored  ’glass-fleck’ formula, which needs 3 coats to achieve opacity.

Universe consists of a red-leaning brown (N.B. use a base coat to avoid staining) and a gold flake polish suspended in a jelly base. The flake polish reminds me a lot of China Glaze Luxe and Lush, except it’s got a gold base.

W.I.C Heróme Zagora; Rimmel Beige Style; OPI Goldeneye; Revlon Moon Candy Universe.I felt a little underwhelmed with this manicure, and I felt that the colors really didn’t look nice on my nails at all. Still wanting to use Zagora in an autumn manicure, I stubbornly began another manicure journey, creating this:

W.I.C Heróme Zagora; Rimmel Beige Style; OPI Goldeneye; Revlon Moon Candy Universe.I used rhinestones to add flair to the manicure, and used a striping tape to create the band on my accent nail. I used Mavala 227 Sparkling Gold layered on the brown from Universe.

W.I.C Heróme Zagora; Rimmel Beige Style; OPI Goldeneye; Revlon Moon Candy Universe.It ended up ok, and I’m happy with the way the rhinestones match Zagora, and bring unity to the manicure… but… I’m not convinced either color suits me. I wore this manicure for a few days out of spite (how dare a color not suit me?!) but, in the end, I took it off before it even showed signs of wear.

W.I.C Heróme Zagora; Rimmel Beige Style; OPI Goldeneye; Revlon Moon Candy Universe.What do you think? Have you had the same struggle with brown/orange? Perhaps you have another color you wish you could wear, or have convinced yourself you can’t wear, that you wish you could pull off. Let me know!

Manicures using similar colors:

Pumpkin Mani

Orange Sparkle

OPI James Bond Collection

Successful Brown Autumn Manicures (that others have done):

Autumn Owl Manicure

DIY Fashion

Fashion 2 Obsession

Leave a Reply

