Review: Rimmel Cocktail Colour – Shirley Temple

Rimmel Cocktail Colour: Shirley Temple; Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear: Sun Kissed

Polish Review: Rimmel: C+; Sally Hansen: B-

Difficulty Level: 2

Autumn themed Manicure: Orange Sparkle & Stars. 

Hey all!

Today’s manicure is a review of Rimmel Cocktail Colour in a Flash: Shirley Temple (#120).

I used Shirley Temple over a coat of Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in Sun Kissed, because the formula is so thin! 😦

Rimmel Cocktail Colour: Shirley Temple; Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear: Sun Kissed

I added some rhinestones from this pack that I purchased off Amazon.co.uk to the manicure, to add even more sparkle. I placed them on my nails using a cuticle stick dipped in clear top coat. Then I sealed the entire mani off with a coat of Seche Vite, once I was satisfied with the placement of the rhinestones.

Rimmel Cocktail Colour: Shirley Temple; Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear: Sun Kissed

Lighting: Outdoor

Shirley Temple is an glass fleck formula orange-red polish with a gold shimmer overlay. The formula? So thin! I know that glass fleck formulas tend to have a jelly or ‘crelly‘ formula, but this polish needs at least four thick coats to reach opacity – and I feel like you can still spot my free edge in some of the photos. And, this is Shirley Temple over one coat of Sun Kissed!

It says “one coat nail polishes” on the back of the bottle… At four coats, I must strongly disagree! The formula also has some balding issues when applying, though it is a fast dry formula as its label suggests.

Rimmel Cocktail Colour: Shirley Temple

Compared to other brands of polishes, you do get less in these 8ml bottles – though this doesn’t bother me much at all, with the reasonable pricing taken into account. (I am also hard-pressed to ever finish a bottle of polish anyway! 😉 ) The brush for the Cocktail Colour in a Flash range is a wide brush, which curves on the sides to help fit your nail better.

Despite all my complaints, I didn’t have anything like it in my collection, and it seemed really appropriate for autumn weather, to me! Also, it’s really sparkly in the sun!

Rimmel Cocktail Colour: Shirley Temple; Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear: Sun KissedHaving said that, I hear it’s a close call to China Glaze: Riveting and OPI: Jinx (minus the texture, of course!) – so if you already have those in your collection, you might want to miss out on this one! Still, Rimmel offers quite competitive prices: enough for me to buy this color on a total whim! I certainly don’t do that with OPI or Essie here in Denmark!

What are your favorite colors to wear for autumn? Have you tried any of the Cocktail Colours in a Flash, before?

 

Other Autumn-Colored Manicures:

Pumpkin Manicure

Simple Hearts

Gold & Greige

 

Autumn Inspiration

The Nail Network

Over the Top Coat

Sparkly Sharp and Fabulous 

Leave a Reply

