Rainy Day Manicure

 

Max Factor: Lilac Lace; Essie Mint Candy Apple ;  Depend in 54; and OPI in Pirouette My Whistle.

Difficulty Rating: 6

Polish Rating: Max Factor: A; Essie: B- ; Depend: B; OPI: A+.

Rainy Day Manicure!

Hey All,

Today’s manicure is inspired by rain, and is a nod to the weather we’ve been experiencing, and have ahead of us this season.

For this manicure I used Max Factor: Lilac LaceEssie Mint Candy Apple ;  Depend in 54; and OPI in Pirouette My Whistle.

Essie Mint Candy Apple ;  Depend in 54; and OPI in Pirouette My Whistle.

Max Factor: Lilac Lace; Essie Mint Candy Apple ;  Depend in 54; and OPI in Pirouette My Whistle.

Max Factor: Lilac Lace; Essie Mint Candy Apple ; Depend in 54; and OPI in Pirouette My Whistle.

Lilac Lace is a creme finish blurple polish that I love, and have mentioned recently. It’s opaque in two coats, and the formula is great!

Mint Candy Apple is a polish I have discussed before, described as a‘crème de menthe mint’ color: somewhere between a pale sky blue and turquoise, depending on the light. As I’ve also mentioned before, this one doesn’t have self-levelling qualities, and is quite streaky and unwieldy to use.

Pirouette My Whistle is a polish with a clear base that has small micro-glitter and larger hex glitter pieces in it. It was made for the OPI New York Ballet Collection, and I just love it.

Depend 54 is an aqua or turquoise-leaning-green creme finish polish, two coats for full opacity, but the formula does leave a little to be desired.

 

Essie Mint Candy Apple ;  Depend in 54; and OPI in Pirouette My Whistle.

I started out with a gradient, using Mint Candy Apple and Depend 54. I then layered Pirouette My Whistle on top of them, hoping that the glitter would create a rain-like effect.

Essie Mint Candy Apple ;  Depend in 54; and OPI in Pirouette My Whistle.

Essie Mint Candy Apple ;  Depend in 54; and OPI in Pirouette My Whistle.

lighting: outdoor

Once my gradient was dry, and I had cleaned up around my nails. I set to work creating my little umbrella using Lilac Lace.

Practice makes perfect

Practice makes perfect

Using a nail art brush, I practiced making small umbrellas a few times before taking the plunge and drawing an umbrella on my nails.

Max Factor: Lilac Lace; Essie Mint Candy Apple ;  Depend in 54; and OPI in Pirouette My Whistle.

I used Lilac Lace for the top of the umbrella, and Essie Licorice for the handle.

Essie Mint Candy Apple ;  Depend in 54; and OPI in Pirouette My Whistle.

Max Factor: Lilac Lace; Essie Mint Candy Apple ;  Depend in 54; and OPI in Pirouette My Whistle.

There you have it! A simple manicure with an accent nail. What do you think? Have you tried an inspired manicure before? What would you do for a ‘rain’ theme?

 

Related Posts using these polishes:

Navy and Silver Crackle

Jewelry Inspired Ombre

Colorful French Manicure

Jewelry Inspired Mani #4

 

Rain Inspired Manicures:

Manicurator

Geordie Nails

Twentieth Street

Leave a Reply

