First Day of Autumn: Pumpkin Mani

China Glaze Running in Circles; Essie Over the Knee; Sally Hansen Sun Kissed.

Difficulty Rating: 4

Polish Rating: Essie: A-; Sally Hansen: B-; China Glaze: A+

First day of Autumn, pumpkin manicure! 

Hey All!

Apparently the 22nd of September 2013 was the Autumnal Equinox, which marked the beginning of Fall/Autumn. To acknowledge the beginning of a new season, I decided to do a pumpkin manicure.

For those of you in the States, you get to warm your hands around the delicious Pumpkin Spiced Lattes. While we do have Starbucks in Denmark (finally) I haven’t yet seen any of these delicious treats on offer here.  We do, however, still have pumpkins – and I’m already playing around with what ideas to do for Halloween pumpkin carving!

China Glaze Running in Circles; Essie Over the Knee; Sally Hansen Sun Kissed.

For this manicure, I used the following colors: Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in Sun Kissed; Essie Over the Knee; and China Glaze Running in Circles.

China Glaze Running in Circls; Essie Over the Knee; Sally Hansen Sun Kissed.

China Glaze Running in Circles; Essie Over the Knee; Sally Hansen Sun Kissed.

Sun Kissed is an orange creme formula polish that I’ve covered before, which is a bright carrot-y colored polish. While I like the color, and have happily used it in marbling and in making nail stickers – the formula is incredibly thin and a bit disappointing.

Running in Circles, on the other hand, is one of my favorites. Described as a ‘cilantro green shimmer’, I’d say that Running in Circles is a crelly formula, packed with flecks of green shimmer. ‘Cilantro’ or ‘grass green’ are appropriate terms to describe the color. This baby is opaque in two coats, with no streaking issues and a whole lot of shine!

Over the Knee is a newer addition to my stash, and this is the first mani on this blog I’ve used it in. Over the Knee is a shimmer formula which looks like hot chocolate on your nails, and up close you can see the rose gold and pink shimmer – though these are quite discreet. It’s a light warm brown, which really suited my skin tone, but it did need three coats to become fully opaque, and the shimmer really is very subtle. If you’re not into light brown nails and are after the shimmer, then I’d recommend skipping out on this one. Still, I like it.

Essie Over the Knee

Essie Over the Knee

Essie Over the Knee

Once my three coats of Over the Knee had dried, I took out my Sun Kissed nail sticker that I had prepared a few hours earlier. If you have a polish with a thicker consistency, you can just use a nail art brush to paint it on, but since I wanted to layer this particular orange over brown, I did a few coats of it on a plastic sheet and waited for it to dry.

Sun Kissed nail sticker, dried and ready to use!

Sun Kissed nail sticker, dried and ready to use!

I cut the nail sticker into the appropriate shapes, and then used a layer of clear polish to adhere them to my nail. Then, using a small nail art brush (which is basically a teeny tiny paintbrush) I painted on the sides of the pumpkin using Over the Knee, and painted on the stem and leaves using Running in Circles. I topped everything off with a coat of Seche Vite when I was done.

China Glaze Running in Circles; Essie Over the Knee; Sally Hansen Sun Kissed.

China Glaze Running in Circls; Essie Over the Knee; Sally Hansen Sun Kissed.

China Glaze Running in Circles; Essie Over the Knee; Sally Hansen Sun Kissed.

A discreet and cute manicure!

What do you think? What are your favorite tools for creating nail art? Brown nail polish: Love or hate?

Other Pumpkin Mani’s:

Real Style Network Tutorial

Sonoma’s: “It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown!”

For Your Nails: Only Pumpkin Nails

Leave a Reply

