Easy Chevron Nails

Maybelline Color Show: 661 Ocean Blue; Wet 'n Wild Fastdry: Silvivor.

Polish Rating: Maybelline: C+; Wet ‘n Wild: A-; Essie: A

Difficulty Rating: 5

Easy Chevron manicure.

Today’s post is an easier way to approach chevron nails.

To achieve this look, I used Maybelline Color Show: 661 Ocean Blue; Wet ‘n Wild Fastdry: Silvivor; and Essie: Matte About You.

Maybelline Color Show: 661 Ocean Blue

Maybelline Color Show: 661 Ocean Blue

Originally, I began this post by painting all my nails with Ocean Blue. The color is a creme finish royal blue, with discrete shimmer. It needed two coats for full opacity, and I really like the color.

Having said this, this didn’t even last 24 hours on my nail. It’s not that the color chipped (despite base and top coat), it’s more that the color seemed to shrink on my nail – almost pulling back to reveal my tips. This was really annoying, and the reason for the C+ rating.

I used Silvivor for the Chevron pattern. I can’t help but chuckle to myself over the name that Wet ‘n Wild chose for this color: I can’t decide if I find it super lame, or incredibly magical… Perhaps a combination of the two. I definitely prefer it to brands that just give their polishes a number.

viv2

When making the background for this blog (above), I made a discovery that really excited me. Having scoured the internet afterwards, I can see that this is not an invention of my own – but a technique that has been tried and tested, that I happened to stumble upon accidentally. Regardless, it really makes chevron patters incredibly approachable.

Step-by-step

All you need is 1) patience, 2) a plastic sheet (a document holder), 3) craft scissors (squiggly zig zag ones), and 4) nail polish.

Paint a few layers of your nail polish onto your plastic sheet and wait for it to dry. Once dry, you can actually peel off the dried nail polish from the plastic backing. You now have a nail polish sticker!

Wet 'n Wild: Silvivor

Nail polish sheet of Silvivor

Once you have your nail polish sticker, the world is your oyster. You can cut it into whatever shapes you want, and you have the added benefit of being able to use both of your hands to do so, rather than fussing about with tape on your nails.

 Wet 'n Wild Fastdry: Silvivor.

zig zag craft scissors and your nail polish sticker

I chose to cut my little strips into zig zagged lines, which I later measured and cut to fit my nail. I then used tweezers to help me arrange the pieces on my nails.

Maybelline Color Show: 661 Ocean Blue; Wet 'n Wild Fastdry: Silvivor.

Once you have your pieces ready, apply top coat (or a coat of your base color) and stick your homemade nail sticker on to your nail. Seal in with top coat.

Maybelline Color Show: 661 Ocean Blue; Wet 'n Wild Fastdry: Silvivor.

Now you can achieve the chevron pattern without having to put pieces of tape on your nail!

Chevron Manicure 10

It creates a really clean design, too! However, if you look closely at my plain blue nail tips, you can see that the blue has already seemingly begun to pull back on my nail: again, this is with top coat! HOW??

Maybelline Color Show: 661 Ocean Blue; Wet 'n Wild Fastdry: Silvivor.

I chose a thicker zig zag design for my thumb, and added some glitter to my middle nail in an attempt to see if the blue would finally relent and stop “chipping”.

In the end, I became rather frustrated. I started my manicure on Friday night, and by Saturday afternoon the blue on my nails had driven me insane. I decided to remove it, and replace it with Silvivor. Which actually can stay on your nail: a basic requirement of mine when it comes to polish, really.

Maybelline Color Show: 661 Ocean Blue; Wet 'n Wild Fastdry: Silvivor.

Chevron Manicure 6

Not quite feeling finished, I decided to add Essie’s Matte About You top coat, to see what effect that would create on top of the metallic formula of Silvivor.

Maybelline Color Show: 661 Ocean Blue; Wet 'n Wild Fastdry: Silvivor.

I ended up really liking the combination in this manicure, and feeling quite satisfied with the end result. Especially for my first time doing chevron nails.

Maybelline Color Show: 661 Ocean Blue; Wet 'n Wild Fastdry: Silvivor.

I can’t wait to see what other combinations I can come up with with these nail stickers. You can even prepare some of these stickers in advance, since they don’t need any attention; just time to dry.

Maybelline Color Show: 661 Ocean Blue; Wet 'n Wild Fastdry: Silvivor; Essie: Matte About You.

Maybelline Color Show: 661 Ocean Blue; Wet ‘n Wild Fastdry: Silvivor; Essie: Matte About You.

So, what do you think? Have you tried making your own nail stickers before? Which color combination do you think looked best?

8 thoughts on “Easy Chevron Nails

  1. […] formula 1Easy Chevron Nails Polish Rating: Maybelline: C+; Wet ‘n Wild: A-; Essie: A Difficulty Rating: 5 Easy Chevron […]

  2. diabetesandi says:

    Babe – did you wrap your tips with the blue? I keep buying these maybeline polishes cuz I love the colours but I’ve only used the yellow one (once). It really stained my nail though even though I used base coat. Im starting to think its just shit polish.

    • I did! Multiple times! It just started to fade so quickly! I’ve really never experienced that when I’ve used both base and top coat. I’ve had some other Maybelline polishes, like their Express Finish laquers (which come in more oval shaped, elongated bottles) and they have worked well.But this was my first time using their “Color Show” ones, and wow was I disappointed! Was your yellow also from the color show?

      • Ringa says:

        Ok why was my comment posted under diabetesandi name?? What?? I’ve never had any account called that. This is Ringa btw 🙂
        And yes, the awful yellow was from colour show. I also have other maybeline polishes that I’ve never had issues with. But this line is just low quality 😦

      • I thought you might have begun blogging! But when I went to that profile, there wasn’t any information! How strange! O_o

        Hmm I’m going to check out some reviews of color show and see if our suspicions are confirmed!

  3. beawright92 says:

    This is genius! Will definitely be giving it a go x

    • I know, right? It really is so much easier than faffng about with tape all over your nails – especially when doing your left (or non-dominant) hand! I’m a fan of it’s simplicity! 😉 Let me know how it works out when you give it a go, I’d love to see your results! 🙂

  4. […] Easy Chevron Nails (nearlynailedit.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

