Floral Print and Glitter Manicure: Essie & Models Own

Essie Sew Psyched; Models Own Hayley's Comet.

Essie Sew Psyched, and Models Own Hayley’s Comet.

Polish Rating: Essie: A ; Models Own: A.

Difficulty rating: 4

Floral Print and Glitter

For this mani I used Seche Vite Dry Fast Top CoatEssie Sew Psyched  and Models Own Hayley’s Comet from their Beetlejuice Collection.

Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat; Essie Sew Psyched, and Models Own Hayley's Comet.

Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat; Models Own Hayley’s Comet; and Essie Sew Psyched.

Both are new items in my collection, and I have had my eye on Sew Psyched for a while now. It’s a crème formula polish that’s a bit hard to describe, color-wise. In my opinion, it’s the resultant love-child of pale army green and asparagus green – added to this is a faint silver shimmer that is visible in the bottle but not very pronounced on the nail. Essie’s homepage describes it as “cashmere-soft sage pewter”. Equally vague, perhaps. Either way, I had nothing like this in my collection, and its formula is pretty darn amazing. I used two easy coats for this manicure. I have heard that it takes a long time to dry, but I didn’t experience this issue myself.

Hayley’s Comet is a metallic douchrome finish – in some lights it looks like a caramelly rose gold with flecks of tiny green microglitter/sheen, and in other lighting it looks much more pinkish with tiny flecks of purple microglitter/sheen. It’s a beautiful color, and I had nothing like it in my collection. If you’re worried about having work-appropriate nails, this color is discreet enough to wear to work. I used three thin coats for full opacity, but I can also imagine this color working very well layered over other colors and I can’t wait to experiment!

Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat; Essie Sew Psyched, and Models Own Hayley's Comet.

My mother’s cousin was visiting, and she picked up the most beautiful nail stickers for me as a gift – I don’t know where they are from unfortunately, but nail stickers are easy to find on both Amazon and Ebay. The roses are just so feminine and wonderful, and were quite easy to apply. I discuss applying decals similar to this in this post, but these came with very simple and easy to use instructions. You can see the instructions in the photo below.

Nail stickers with instructions

Nail stickers, instructions, tweezers, and scissors.

I applied the roses to my thumb nails and covered everything with a generous coat of Seche Vite.

Next, I decided to make my mani even more exciting. I decided to add some glitter to my accent nail with Hayley’s Comet on it.

glitter and a cuticle stick

All you need is glitter, some top coat, and a cuticle stick

When I first thought of adding the glitter to my nails I was convinced this manicure would take me forever to do, but it was really surprisingly fast. I painted a layer of clear top coat over my nails, and used a dab of top coat on the tip of the cuticle stick to help the hex glitter pieces stick to it. Then, balanced on the tip of the cuticle stick (adhering to the top coat I dabbed it in) I carried over one glitter speck at a time, and arranged it on my nail. Because you have the top coat on your nail, the glitter sticks to it easily, and it was easy to move and position the glitter with the stick even after it was on the nail. I did a straight line down each of my accent nails.

Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat; Essie Sew Psyched, and Models Own Hayley's Comet.

I love these colors together – when the lighting is right the green shimmer in Hayley’s Comet really complements the green in Sew Psyched. The rose nail stickers really make an impression, and can spruce up a manicure really quickly and easily! Great for beginners!

Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat; Essie Sew Psyched, and Models Own Hayley's Comet.

Close-up of the nail sticker (pre-clean up!)

What do you think? What are your favorite nail sticker motifs?

Leave a Reply

