Jewelry Inspired #5: Zombie Green?

Essie Shake Your $$ Maker

Essie Shake Your $$ Maker

Difficulty rating: 2

Polish Rating: Essie: C+; China Glaze: A+

Another jewelry inspired mani… with a wee twist.

Today’s post is a jewelry and shoe inspired look, using one of Essie’s Neon Collection 2013 polishes. Namely, Shake Your $$ Maker.

So, I bought this sugar skull necklace while visiting New Orleans last year, and I bought it because it sort of matched these babies:

zombie stompers

Zombie Stompers (image source)

They are called Zombie Stompers, and are pretty much the coolest shoes in the history of shoe. (Well ok, that’s a bit dramatic, but they are very exciting). They come from a brand called Iron Fist, and they also exist as high-heels.

I originally purchased Shake Your $$ Maker in the hopes that it would match both these shoes and my sugar skull necklace. The color is incredibly hard to photograph, however.

Essie Shake Your $$ Maker

Shake Your $$ Maker is a bright, happy green.  In some lights it really looks neon, while in others it looks like a grass green. In all of my photos it looks like a variation of grass green, but be aware that it is part of the Neon Collection for a reason!

I must say, for Essie, the formula wasn’t too exciting. I knew it was a jelly formula when I was buying it, which is a formula I often have trouble falling in love with if it’s not being layered, but since it was such a nice neon version of grass green I went for it anyway.

This polish was very sheer and needed 3 coats to become opaque.

Essie Shake Your $$ Maker

Essie Shake Your $$ Maker one coat, not over white

Over a white base I still needed to use two coats. It was also a wee bit streaky, which really added to my disenchantment. Still, once the color was on over white, it did look quite cool!

Essie Shake Your $$ Maker

Essie Shake Your $$ Maker with China Glaze Running in Circles

I tried doing a gradient with China Glaze Running in Circles, which is a color I have used before for St. Patty’s Day and is one of my favorite glitters. I think I preferred the polish on it’s own, though, before I got all gradient-y with it. I could have settled for doing one accent nail in Running in Circles. Which is something I will definitely consider when trying to match my nails to this necklace again.

 

Have you tried any of the  Essie Neon Collection 2013? What were your experiences with the formulas?

Leave a Reply

