Quick Post: Skittle Nails

Essie: Tart Deco; Cool Cos: #25 Hollywood Cerise; Cool Cos: #005 Red Violet; and Maybelline: Fuchsia

Essie: Tart Deco; Cool Cos: #25 Hollywood Cerise; Cool Cos: #005 Red Violet; and Maybelline: Fuchsia.

Difficulty rating: 3

Polish Rating: Cool Cos #25: A-; Cool Cos #005: A-; Essie: A; Maybelline: A

Skittle manicure!

Today’s quick post is a look at a skittle manicure that I did.

To get the look I used:

  • Cool Cos #25 Hollywood Cerise (middle finger) Cool Cos #005 in Red Violet (pinky finger)
  • Essie in Tart Deco (peach; ring finger and thumb, base gradient)
  • Maybelline’s Express Finish in Fuchsia (hot pink; index finger, thumb and ring finger gradient)
  • I also had some Crayola Nail Stickers which I can’t seem to find a link for on Amazon. My mother picked these up for me years ago and I’ve just had them lying around.

The formulas for all of these polishes are really quite great. Essie’s Tart Deco only needed two coats for full opacity, which is quite rare for such a light coral color. Fuchsia was also two coats. Cool Cos #25 Hollywood Cerise and #005 Red Violet are almost opaque in one coat, and the only notable drawback of these colors is the formula which smells rather strongly of balloons while you’re working. If you’re into that, or perhaps if you ventilate your flat a bit better than I do, this shouldn’t be an issue. I do really enjoy the color payoff in these colors, so I ignore the balloon-y smell, though I can imagine this putting some people off.

I can imagine these being great for Valentine’s day, or even a nice summer day – since the manicure is full of lovely warm colors.

What do you think? Have you tried Skittle manis before? What are your favorite color combinations?

 

Related Posts:

Ombre/Gradient Nails

Jewelry Inspired Gradient Nails

Glitter Gradient Nails

 

disclaimer

Leave a Reply

