Polka dots & Glitter

Essie: Licorice, Tart Deco, A-Crewed Interest, Lovie Dovie, Mint Candy Apple. Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips: Blue Ice

Essie: Mint Candy Apple, Lovie Dovie, Tart Deco, A-Crewed Interest, Licorice.

Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips: Blue Ice

Polish Rating: Essie: Licorice: A+, Lovie Dovie: A- , Mint Candy Apple: B-, A Crewed Interest: B-, Tart Deco: A ; Sally Hansen: B+

Difficulty rating: 4

Polka dots and glitter.

Hey all,

Today’s post is all about nail stickers and polka dots. I mentioned in a previous post  that I signed up for a beauty box – and in that beauty box I also received some Sally Hansen nail stickers, which I knew I had to try out.

For the complete manicure, I used the following:

Essie: LicoriceEssie: Tart Deco ;Essie: A-Crewed Interest; Essie: Lovie DovieEssie: Mint Candy Apple; and Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips: Blue Ice. In addition to this, I helped speed the drying process with my favorite fast drying tool, Mavala Oil Seal Dryer.

I have covered my thoughts on Licorice recently, so I will merely describe it as a crème formula, ‘true black’, self-levelling polish. Essie’s Tart Deco is also a crème formula, and is a coral with strong orange tones. It’s a versatile shade – it’s a very bright color, but is both a few levels shy of being neon, and a few levels shy of being a pastel. The formula is fairly thick, and almost opaque in one coat. Still, I normally use two coats for full opacity.

Lovie Dovie is another color I have covered before, and it’s a crème polish in a perfect flirty pink that’s not too Barbie. Due to its thin formula, it does need three coats to become opaque, though.

Mint Candy Apple, which I’ve also discussed before , is a crème polish,  described as a ‘crème de menthe mint’ color which swings between a sky blue and turquoise, depending on the light you view it in. Mint Candy Apple had a thick formula that needed two generous coats (or three thin coats) to become opaque, and unlike most other Essie colors, it does not possess the awesome self-leveling qualities I’ve come to love.

A-Crewed Interest is a new addition to my collection; it’s a pink leaning towards peach crème (though I have heard it described as a ‘crelly’ (crème and jelly formula). It’s a flattering, rich color – though it does need three coats to reach full opacity. I experienced streaking issues, and other reviews I have read of this polish complained of dragging and bubbling – so another polish that does not self-level on its own. Top coat does help with these issues, however.

polish review essie licorice3

I started out using Essie Licorice as a base, though you don’t need to paint the accent nail you plan on adding your nail sticker to. They are fully opaque on their own.

I started out by using bobby pin and creating the little dots on my ring finger accent nails. I did each color one at a time, on each nail. At the bottom of this post you can see other posts where I have discussed the dotting process in greater detail.

polkasticker3

One thing to remember, for the love of all things holy, is to wait to apply your top coat until the dots are dry, or you will drag your color all over the place.

It was my first experience working with Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips in Blue Ice.

 Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips: Blue Ice

Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips: Blue Ice

With the box comes 16 polish strips so that you can choose different sizes to fit your nails, a cuticle stick, and a nail file to trim the excess polish strip off your nail. You also receive instructions on how best to apply the sticker to your nail, and these are easy to understand.

Application tips:

1)      Select the right size strip for each nail (one end is rounded and the other is squared –

choose the right shape for your nail and cuticle line), and peel off the protective film. If you find yourself between sizes, choose the larger size and use the cuticle stick to remove the excess strip off your skin.

2)      Press the strip on to your nail, using the cuticle stick to smooth it down.

3)      Bend the strip over your free edge and use the file to file off the excess. I do this in a downward motion, away from the top of my nail. This method is better than tearing, which can leave you with messy, distorted patterns and uneven edges.

I can see the appeal with these Polish Strips if the motif on them is complicated, but since these came in just glitter I think the hassle of finding a strip that fits your nails, filing it down and making sure it’s evenly applied seems like overkill. It takes less time to apply two coats of polish to your nail. Having said that, I see some great designs from Sally Hansen – like butterflies and flowers, and here I can recommend trying these Polish Strips out to save time.

polkasticker4

What do you think? Have you tried Polish Strips before?

Related Posts

Polka Dots and Flowers

Minnie Manicure

3 thoughts on “Polka dots & Glitter

  1. […] Polka dots & Glitter (nearlynailedit.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Kina Cornish says:

    This internet web-site is genuinely a walk-through for all of the info you wanted about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and you’ll definitely discover it.

  3. […] Polka dots & Glitter (nearlynailedit.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

