Conquering my taping mani fears: Stripes

HOT Makeup in Pink Loyal; China Glaze: Flying Dragon; & Essie: Licorice

HOT Makeup in Pink Loyal; China Glaze: Flying Dragon; & Essie: Licorice

Polish rating: Hot Makeup: B; China Glaze: B-; Essie: A

Difficulty rating: 4-5

Hot pink striped manicure.

Hey all,

Today’s’ post is a striped accent nail, and is another of my attempts to master taping in manicures.

You will need the following:

Stripes2

A pair of scissors and some scotch tape or striping tape (the skanky dust that’s apparently stuck itself to my tape is optional). I know that there are many options online for striping tape – and I can see that there are definite plus sides to buying striping tape for manicures. For one, you don’t have to sit and cut your tape into little strips, and, because of this, each piece comes out the same size – which is a time-saver. Because I’m on a budget these days, I’ve been trying my hand at regular tape. I’ve tried a few different types of scotch tape, and I’m not sure I’ve found a winner just yet.  Most of the tape I have tried has not been sticky enough, and I’ve had real issues with color bleeding under the tape. I’ve tried sponging it on and painting it on regularly – neither technique gets rid of bleeding completely. I’ve discussed other issues about taping in this post, and I’m really hoping that practice makes perfect because I’ve yet to have a manicure with tape involved where I’ve been totally satisfied.

HOT Makeup in Pink Loyal; China Glaze: Flying Dragon; & Essie: Licorice

HOT Makeup in Pink Loyal; China Glaze: Flying Dragon; & Essie: Licorice

I used HOT Makeup in Pink LoyalChina Glaze in Flying Dragon,  And Essie in Licorice.

Because the Essie is going over the Flying Dragon on my accent nails, it was important for me to pick a color that was opaque in one coat. Taping manicures are already tricky enough without having to build up color. Keep this issue of opacity in mind when selecting your own color combinations. Licorice is a dream when it comes to formula, and it was really easy to cover Flying Dragon with.

Stripes4

Once my Pink Loyal and Flying Dragon coats were dry, I cut 6 little strips of tape, and arranged them: three on each accent nail. I really tried to make sure that the tape adhered to the entire nail, smoothing it down so that there were no air gaps.

Stripes5

I then painted Licorice over the tape in one coat. You can actually see the tape had begun to lift off my nail on the sides, in this photo, despite my careful attempts. *Sigh*

Stripes6

I had a few bleeds on the sides and near the tape areas, so I took a paintbrush dipped in acetone and gently tried to clean up the bleeds. Don’t press too hard or use too much acetone or you’ll end up taking off your base coat, too!

No topcoat

No topcoat

In the photo above, you can see that the black is a bit raised off the fuchsia base. If you want an even looking manicure, you need to put on a top coat.

With topcoat

With topcoat

In this photo, I have a topcoat on, and you can lo longer see the raised difference between Licorice and Flying Dragon.

 

There you have it! What do you think? Have you tried striped manicures before? Do you have any good tips?

 

 

5 thoughts on “Conquering my taping mani fears: Stripes

  1. maggie says:

    I liked the purple and black bit!

  2. beauty queen says:

    You actually make it appear really easy with your presentation but I
    in finding this matter to be really one thing which I think I’d never understand. It sort of feels too complicated and extremely vast for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll attempt to get
    the dangle of it!

  3. Shantell says:

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about
    this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a
    bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog. A fantastic read.
    I’ll certainly be back.

  4. Sanora says:

    Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve really loved browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I’m hoping you
    write once more very soon!

Leave a Reply

