Navy and Silver Crackle

Astor Lacque Deluxe in VIP Blue; OPI in Pirouette My Whistle; Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat #03 in Fractured Foil.

Astor Lacque Deluxe in VIP Blue; OPI in Pirouette My Whistle; Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat #03 in Fractured Foil.

Difficulty Rating: 2

Polish Rating: Astor Lacque Deluxe: A; OPI: A; Sally Hansen: A.

Navy and Silver Crackle Manicure.

Hey All,

 

Apologies in my delays in posting. It’s hard juggling my auntie duties with a busy work schedule, so I’m glad I was able to squeeze in a quick post!

Today’s post is a quick and easy manicure that definitely catches the eye. In a previous post, I talk about the different types of textured manicures and nail polish trends, and today’s manicure includes crackled polish.

For this manicure you will need the following polishes: Astor Lacque Deluxe in VIP BlueOPI in Pirouette My Whistle; and Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat #03 in Fractured Foil.  I also used Mavala’s Oil Seal Dryer in between layers, to help speed up the drying process.

Astor Lacque Deluxe in VIP Blue; OPI in Pirouette My Whistle; Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat #03 in Fractured Foil.

Astor Lacque Deluxe in VIP Blue; OPI in Pirouette My Whistle; Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat #03 in Fractured Foil.

It was my first experience with Astor Lacque Deluxe nail polish, I’ve subscribed to a Beauty Box here in Denmark which sends 4-5 me full-size products a month. This polish was almost opaque enough to get away with one coat, and with two thin coats it is fully opaque. The polish was easy to apply and had some self-leveling qualities to it that made me really happy!

The Sally Hansen Crackle Overcoat was also a new addition to my collection, which arrived in the same Beauty Box. One coat was all I used for this manicure, and I am very satisfied with the crackle effects.

OPI Piriouette My Whistle is a long-time favorite of mine. Originally designed for the OPI New York Ballet Collection, Pirouette My Whistle was the first polish that made me notice the fact that nail polish companies were making collections inspired by events, movies, etc. It is a clear base that has small micro-glitter and larger hex glitter pieces in it. It reminds me of a ballerinas tutu, and it’s a staple piece in my collection. Placed over a nude color it manages to look classic and funky at the same time.

navyandsilvercrackle4

I started with a base of Astor Lacque Delux in VIP Blue, using two thin coats. Once these coats were dry, I used the Crackle Overcoat on my index and ring finger accent nails.

navyandsilvercrackle5

For those of you who have never tried using a crackle nail polish before, you can watch the transition in a matter of seconds happen on your nail. You can see in the picture that the Crackle Overcoat had already begun to crackle before I finished taking the photo.

silverandnavycrackle

As you can see in this photo, the polish has begun to separate, giving the cracked effect. Once you are satisfied with the crackle, put on a top coat.

navyandsilvercrackle3

 

I added two coats of Pirouette My Whistle to my thumb, middle and pinkie nail. I think the silver glitter complements the crackle color well, and softens the effect of the manicure, while giving it a more completed look.

 

What do you think? Have you tried crackle polishes before?

disclaimer

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

