Jewelry inspired mani #4: Monday blues

Essie Beyond Cozy & Mint Candy Apple, and N°7 in Totally Teal.

Essie Beyond Cozy & Mint Candy Apple, and N°7 in Totally Teal.

Polish rating: Essie: Beyond Cozy: A+; Mint Candy Apple: B-; N°7: B

Difficulty rating: 4-5

Jewelry inspired taping manicure

Hey all,

 

Today’s post is another variant of this post, where I decided to play around with the little triangles and their placement, and use a ring I had as color inspiration.

In this post, I discuss the issues of using tape in a manicure, and I will say that I have yet to master perfecting my tape technique. For the purposes of this manicure, it doesn’t matter – particularly because you are going to outline the triangles with a thin striping brush, covering your uneven marks, like in my cardigan nail post. I am looking forward to learning more about tape, and trying out different types of tape, since this is an area where I really struggle.

tapemanicure2

For this post, I used Essie: Beyond Cozy and Mint Candy Apple, as well as N°7 in Totally Teal.

 

I started with a base of Mint Candy Apple.

Mint Candy Apple in different lights

Mint Candy Apple in different lights

Beyond Cozy is a color I’ve covered before, and continue to love. It is a silvery/gold glitter that packs a punch in terms of opacity. Two coats and you’re good to go. Mint Candy Apple is described as a ‘creme de menthe mint’ color which swings between sky blue and turquoise, depending on the light. Unlike other Essie colors, I found Mint Candy Apple to lack the self-leveling quality that I normally love and have come to expect from Essie. It needed two very generous coats (or three thin coats) to become opaque, and its thick formula made application a bit of a pain. Still, once a top coat was applied the color looked gorgeous. Totally Teal is a teal color that leans towards a forest/pine green. There are some application issues with Totally Teal, but in two generous coats you have full opacity.

Make-up sponge and scotch tape

Make-up sponge and scotch tape

After your Mint Candy Apple base has dried, it’s time to decide where you want your triangles. Using regular scotch tape I made a triangular shape to use as a guide. The scotch tape I had was not especially sticky, so I did not need to stick it to my hand a couple of times to make sure it didn’t rip of my base layer – but if your tape is sticky this is a step you may want to consider. In an attempt to avoid bleeding of nail polish under the tape, and to create a different effect, I decided to sponge on Totally Teal.

Mint Candy Apple and Totally Teal (pre-clean up)

Mint Candy Apple and Totally Teal (pre-clean up)

As you can see, there was still a bit of bleeding under the tape, even in spite of my sponging on the color. In hindsight I could have made multiple triangles rather than reusing the same one piece of tape (which did lose its ability to stick). I think it is important, however, to do one nail at a time so that you don’t have pesky bits of tape hanging all over the place. As I mentioned earlier, the triangles don’t have to be perfect since you will be outlining them. I played around with the placement of the triangles, placing them in different areas of my nail.

tapemanicure6

I then used a striping brush (which is really just a thin paint brush) and Beyond Cozy to outline the triangles.

tapemanicure7

What do you think? Have you had experience taping before? Do you have problems with bleeding color?

disclaimer

 

 

One thought on “Jewelry inspired mani #4: Monday blues

Leave a Reply

