Hombre, that’s a lot of ombre!

matteombre

 

Difficulty Rating: 4-5 out of 10

Polish Rating: Essie: A-; Cool Cos: A-

 

Today’s post is about all things ombre! Nails, tie dye polish and even lips! Read on to lean more!

Hey All,

 

 

Firstly, I’d like to apologize for my terrible pun… Sorry enough to realize it’s a pretty lame joke, but not quite sorry enough to not have said it at all – it was simply too hard to resist. So … onwards!

 

Today’s Manicure:

Today’s manicure is a continuation of this post – where I decided to do a gradient on all nails instead of just an accent nail, and then added a matte top coat. Since I already covered gradients in my previous post, I didn’t include any detailed pictures in this post about the ‘how-to’ of gradients. I did, however, include a picture of my makeup sponge below, so you can see how I layered the pinks to achieve the gradient.

I really like the romantic spring vibe these colors give off, and I can’t wait to try this out for summer with some other color combinations.  I rated the difficulty as 4 or 5 out of 10, because this manicure can get a bit messy, and you do have to be a bit patient and thorough with how you dab the makeup sponge on your nails. Once you feel comfortable doing this, and have gotten the hang of knowing when to reapply polish to your sponge this manicure is quite easy, and can be both a discreet and work-friendly manicure or a fast funky mani – all depending on the colors you use.

For this manicure you will need the following:

matteombre2

 

I used Essie: Lovie Dovie and Cool Cos #25 for the gradient, and finished the manicure off with Essie Matte About You, matte top coat.

Lovie Dovie I have discussed before, and remain a fan – despite the consistency of the formula being a little bit on the thin side. Three coats of this polish and you are wearing a flirty pink that is not too Barbie. Matte About You was one of the first matte top coats to hit Denmark, and I love the effect it gives.

Cool Cos I’ve mentioned on this blog before, too. Like other Cool Cos colors, I feel as though the formula smells heavily of balloons, and this can be a bit off-putting. Having said this, nail polish generally doesn’t smell fantastic, and this red-based purple is opaque enough to only use one coat. So it feels like a pretty fair trade for me (with price taken into consideration), but I can imagine it being an issue for some.

matteombre3

 

Upcoming nail trends:

YSL will be releasing La Laque Couture Tie & Dye Top Coat Collection, a collection of 4 polishes that have three different finishes in the same bottle! In each bottle is a sparkly, glossy and sheer top coat – which is intended to mimic tie dye. If you want a gradient effect, simply pull the brush out of the bottle and paint over your mani, or you can shake the bottle and mix all three finishes together for one consistent look. The Collection of polishes, retailing at 25USD each will be released in May. The four colors are Cool Coat (coral/melon); Pop Coat (fuschia); Hip Coat (lilac/purple) and Ice Coat (blue).

ombreysl

Image taken from: here.

I have yet to see photos or swatches of how this works, and I am incredibly curious! I will be keeping my eyes peeled in May to see if Scandinavia has the same release date, and also to see what price these end up being over here… I can already feel my wallet cringe.

 

Ombre make up:

 

Nails are not my only vice, and while perusing through my various feeds I stumbled across an ombre lip tutorial on makeup.com.

makeup-ombre-gradient-lip-tutorial-how-to

 

Image taken from: here.

I definitely don’t think I’d ever considered taking the ombre trend to my lips – I’d imagine the eyes being a natural place to start. Looks like all things ombre are popular! I’m not sure how I feel about ombre lips, on the one hand it looks quite interesting (and well done in the pictures), but it reminds me of being a kid and drinking too much koolaid or staining my lips with some kind of candy. It can look… well, accidental, no?

 

What do you think? Have you tried a full ombre manicure before? Will you be getting your hands on YSL’s latest collection? And will you be trying out ombre lips? 

 

Leave a Reply

