Green and gold/silver freehand

Image

The colors I used for this manicure are: Essie: Beyond Cozy; *Coolcos: 26; and OPI: Mourning Glory (which came from this set). *Turns out Coolcos’ webshop only shows a handful of shades – like number 20, which was the closest I could come to the shade pictured here. In Denmark you can stop by the Coolcos store at Fisketorvet to check out a much bigger collection.

Difficulty: 5

Polish Ratings: Essie: A; Coolcos; C; OPI: A.

Both formulas for Essie Beyond Cozy and OPI Mourning Glory were great and you only need two coats for full opaqueness, but the Coolcos 26 (while much cheaper in price) smelled a little bit like balloons (!), took forever to dry, and was very thick and clumpy to work with.

I made this manicure freehand, using a mechanical pencil dipped in the OPI black nail polish to make a border around the gold/silver tips. Despite some imperfections I’m quite pleased with how these turned out. They’re very different, and I received many compliments for them. The color combinations are endless.

I have seen tutorials for using scotch tape such as this or this and this video that I only saw after I had tried to do them myself. I must say that all the  attempts I have made to use tape on my nails have failed miserably. I know that you are supposed to do the following:

  1. Wait until your base coat is completely dry, because you risk ripping color off your nails when you remove the tape.
  2. Put the tape on your skin first before your nail, so that it isn’t quite so sticky.
  3. Remove the tape immediately after painting on your nail (which means doing them one at a time is easiest).

Despite knowing all of the above, the color always bleeds or smudges when I try. Have you had any luck with tape?

 

disclaimer

6 thoughts on “Green and gold/silver freehand

  1. Hi! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look
    forward to new updates.

  2. Hi there, I enjoy reading through your article.
    I wanted to write a little comment to support you.

  3. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.

    I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyhow, great blog!

    • Greetings back, from Scandinavia! 🙂 I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog so far, and I’m happy to hear that it’s loading fast! I hope you’ll continue to drop by!

  4. siterow.com says:

    Very good article. I certainly appreciate this site. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

